Question: Hi! I have a sharp pain in my shoulder and below my breast from lifting heavy things at work. Tips?xAsked by cassandranicole

Hi!

The pain started in my shoulder and is now spreading down my rib cage and to my chest. It does get better when I use heat patches but not for very long. I can feel a knot beside my shoulder blade.

What kind of treatment would be best? I would not want something too aggressive! – I have quit my job now, so hopefully I will get better soon! πŸ™‚ – oh, but it means that I am a bit on a small budget! πŸ˜›

Thank you!γ€€

RESPONSE:

I am sorry to here about your troubles. First of all if your injury occurred on the job you should put in a work related claim. Even if you don’t work there any longer. If it happened at work it is a labor & industry matter. Get it documented as soon as possible. You can be eligible for therapy to get you better. It sounds like you have a muscle strain/sprain. Getting massage therapy care will help you pending no other issue are present to complicate things. Ice is always suggest for anything acute- that is to say for injuries that just happened. Try not to irritated it by lifting or doing any movements that irritate it. You can try laying on you side (hurt side up) with a pillow under your other side and bend to stretch open your side ribs and breathe deeply with the stretch. Andrew Wolfe,LMP

Leave a Reply

